Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Blackouts

Date
Jun 12, 2020 @ 08:00 PM
Time
Jun 12, 2020 @ 08:00 PM - Jun 12, 2020 @ 08:45 PM
Cost
$12.50
Organizer’s Site
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/106050905112
Council District
City Council District 13
Event Series Dates
Friday 6/5 at 8:00pm PST / 10:00pm CST / 11:00pm EST: Blackouts Part 1 Saturday 6/6 at 8:00pm PST / 10:00pm CST / 11:00pm EST: Blackouts Part 1 Sunday 6/7 at 3:00pm PST / 5:00pm CST / 6:00pm EST: Blackouts Part 1 Friday 6/12 at 8:00pm PST / 10:00pm CST / 11:00pm EST: Blackouts Part 2 Saturday 6/13 at 8:00pm PST / 10:00pm CST / 11:00pm EST: Blackouts Part 2 Sunday 6/14 at 3:00pm PST / 5:00pm CST / 6:00pm EST: Blackouts Part 2

Padua Playwrights kicks off the 2020 season with a series of performances with Blackouts. A new virtual performance piece showcases writer and director Murray Mednick’s poetic gifts to address the Covid-19 crisis. BLACKOUTS combines streetwise lyricism and dry humor to bear on an infernal encounter with the health care system, American style. Explains Mednick, “BLACKOUTS is a partially autobiographical account of a recent surreal hospital stay.” Starring the award-winning actor Tony Abatemarco (The Mystery of Irma Vep, Four Fathers, the stellar cast also includes Youssif Kamal, Christopher Rivas, Shyla Lefner and Jon Gentry—BLACKOUTS will be presented live for viewers in two parts, June 5, 6, 7 (Part 1) and June 12, 13, 14 (Part 2). With BLACKOUTS, Mednick continues his lifelong exploration of theatre as a medium for truth telling and connection.

Location

Los Angeles, CA United States + Google Map

Organizer

Padua Playwrights
Phone:
3233770409
Email:
info@paduaplaywrights.org
Website:
http://paduaplaywrights.org/

Upcoming Events

July 25 @ 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
NewFilmmakers LA, 1438 N Gower St, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Los Angeles, CA 90028 United States
$10

NewFilmmakers Los Angeles Virtual Film Festival – July 25th

NewFilmmakers Los Angeles (NFMLA) hosts InFocus: Canadian Cinema, Presented by the Consulate General of Canada in Los Angeles, highlighting independent Canadian storytellers. Following the Canadian Cinema programs is a selection of shorts from NFMLA’s summer programming. Powered by Seed&Spark on their virtual festival platform, each screening will be followed by a live Q&A via Zoom. Special event sponsors include Telefilm Canada, Québec Government Office in Los Angeles and Mount Saint Mary’s University. The day begins with InFocus: Canadian Cinema’s documentary…

BE IN THE LOOP!

Receive updates about art, culture, and creativity in LA


By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from: Department of Cultural Affairs, 201 North Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA, 90012, http://culturela.org. You can revoke your consent to receive emails at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link, found at the bottom of every email. Emails are serviced by Constant Contact