Proposal Finalists for the Memorial to the Victims of the 1871 Chinese Massacre


DCA and El Pueblo de Los Angeles Historical Monument announced the six finalists for the memorial to the victims of the 1871 Chinese massacre. The finalists’ proposals will be presented in a Zoom public engagement session in February, 2023 followed by final review from an evaluation panel. Free admission. Tickets  The proposals can be viewed at the bottom of this page.

Upcoming Public Events:  

1871 Today – Remembering the Victims of the 1871 Chinese Massacre and Perspectives on Preserving Old Chinatown and New 
February 14, 2023 at 12:15 p.m.

Join the National Trust for Historic Preservation for a special convening on the 1871 Memorial project. As part of the National Trust’s Roundtable on Cultural Preservation Strategies for America’s Chinatowns we will hear from historians, preservationists, community organizations and residents on the meaning of 1871 today.

  • What about Chinatown’s past is important to preserve, sustain, or memorialize for future generations?
  • What do you want people to understand about Chinatown (old and new) when they experience this place?
  • With respect to the 1871 memorial, how can new projects connect us with the past and to the preservation and contemporary understanding of old and new Chinatown?
  • This conversation will be livestreamed and recorded for the design teams and the public to attend and review.

Memorial to the Victims of the 1871 Chinese Massacre Design Finalist Presentations

February 18, 2023 from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Join the six shortlisted teams for a lively public discussion. The shortlisted teams will present their designs and engage in conversation with attendees. Attendees will view design presentations, and be asked to provide feedback and commentary as well as conversation on themes of public space, civic art, memory, honoring the past, as well as exclusion, belonging, and anti-Asian violence and white supremacy. The ensuing conversation will be transcribed and provided to the design teams to inform their final submissions to the evaluation panel.

This event will be held in two sections with an identical format: design presentations, Q & A, and small group discussion. The event will be designed for public attendance via Zoom. All presentations will occur through Zoom but the event will be moderated by Rosten Woo at NAC Architecture (837 North Spring Street Third Floor, Los Angeles, CA 90012) – where the public is also invited to view and participate in person.

10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.:

  • Sonam Lhamo, Jiawei Yao, Yiying (architectural team, Seattle)
  • Sze Tsung Nicolas Leong and Judy Chui-Hua Chung (artist/writer collaboration, Los Angeles)
  • Fung + Blatt Architects (architects, Los Angeles)

2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.:

  • Candice Lin + Frederick Fisher and Partners (architect/artist collaboration, Los Angeles)
  • Figure x (James Leng and Jennifer Ly) J. Roc Jih (architecture collective, San Francisco)
  • Anne Sew Hoy and Zhu Jia and Formation Association (artist/architect collaboration, Los Angeles)

Free registration for above event opens February 9 at 10:00 a.m.

View the Proposed Concepts Below

The six finalists are:

Fung + Blatt Architects
Los Angeles, CA

Sze Tsung Nicolás Leong and Judy Chui-Hua Chung
Artist/Writer Collaboration, Los Angeles, CA

Artists Anna Sew Hoy and Zhu Jia and Formation Association
Artists/Architect Collaboration, Los Angeles, CA

Candice Lin + Frederick Fisher and Partners 
Architect/Artist Collaboration, Los Angeles, CA

Figure x J. Jih
Architecture Collective, led by James Leng and Jennifer Ly in collaboration with J. Roc Jih, San Francisco, CA

Sonam Lhamo, Jiawei Yao, Yiying Tang
Architectural Team, Seattle, WA

For more information on the initiative, please download the media release here.


Receive notes about art, culture, and creativity in LA!

By submitting this form, you consent to receive marketing emails from See Change Institute. You can opt-out at any time by using the SafeUnsubscribe® link found at the bottom of every email.