General Information

ADDRESS

2520 South West View Street

Los Angeles, CA 90016

CONTACT

323-734-1165

ami.motevalli@lacity.org

HOURS

Tuesday - Saturday, 12 pm - 5 pm (unless for special programming or classes)

PARKING

Street parking

William Grant Still Arts Center

Art Classes Available

Founded in 1977, William Grant Still Arts Center is a facility of the City of Los Angeles Department of Cultural Affairs offering summer camp, creative workshops, music and art classes for adults and youth, an exhibition space, concerts, and a place for community meetings and the neighborhood to come together.

The Center offers:

  • Art, movement, and music classes for seniors, adults, teens, and children, including early childhood education;
  • Professionally-produced exhibitions that include the annual Black Doll Show, now in it’s 35th year, and the African-American Composers Exhibition and Education series that displays archives and teaches music and art through the life and work of a selected composer;
  • Art & Jazz Summer Day Camp for ages 3-12;
  • Jazz-based ensemble instruction;
  • Partnerships with teachers at local schools and universities; and
  • Readings, film screenings, and concerts throughout the year

Our namesake, Dr. William Grant Still, first coined the term “art music”, which is very much in line the educational goals of our community arts center. All of the William Grant Still Arts Center’s programs are free, or are as low-cost as is possible, in order to be accessible to all in our community.

Staff

Ami Motevalli

Arts Center Director

ami.motevalli@lacity.org 

Bette Braxton

Gallery Attendant

bette.braxton@lacity.org

Dale Guy Madison

Educational Coordinator

dale.madison@lacity.org

Sofía Gabaldón

Office Manager

sofia.gabaldon@lacity.org

Sabella Arroyo

Administrative Assistant

sabella.arroyo@lacity.org

Byron Mapp

Gallery Attendant

byron.mapp@lacity.org

Marcus Miller

Art Instructor

Jacori Perry

Art Instructor

Aeros Pierce

Art Instructor

Emeka Simmons

Art Instructor

emeka.simmons@lacity.org

BE IN THE LOOP!

Receive notes about art, culture, and creativity in LA!